top of page

Cleansing the Elements with Bhuta Shuddhi

Updated: Oct 1, 2021

Bhuta Shuddhi is the fundamental basis of nearly all yoga processes. It’s a yogic spiritual practice, in which the five elements of water, air, earth, fire and space are purified and balanced. There is a whole system of yoga called Bhuta Shuddhi, which means “purification of the elements.”. Bhuta meaning “element” and shuddhi, meaning “purification” or cleansing. Practicing bhuta shuddhi creates physical, emotional and mental changes that cleanse the body, spirit and mind. This simple practice which you can do daily reorganizes your system on the elemental level: Water We are 72% water, so this element is of greatest significance. Water is life not a commodity. Keep water in a copper container in a clean place away from harsh smells. Approach water with gratitude and reverence. Earth Soil has intelligence and memory. Touch the soil around your home with the palms of your hands and bare feet daily. Be in nature! Air Air is the most dynamic element. Breathe consciously. Fire What kind of fire burns in you? Get sunlight every day. Light a fire for 3 minutes every day. Akash Akash is the 5th and most expansive dimension, also known as the etheric space. After sunrise and during sunset, look up and bow down to the sun for holding everything in place. This daily practice creates limitless perception. Mastery over the elements creates a state of harmony and balance and enhances the capability of the mind and body.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page